Books in The Growlery

This one’s filed under “Personal”.

My mother and I have treated my father a bit like he’s our own, personal Wikipedia for as long as I can remember. Because the fact of the matter is that he is precisely that. Whenever I need to check anything to do with vintage Indian cinema, Bengali literature, the classics, Hindustani classical music, Sherlock Holmes, PG Wodehouse, UFOs or Indian political history, I turn to my father and wail for help. Most recently, I asked him for a crash course in detectives in Bengali fiction and it seemed like a shame to not share this. I’ve been wanting to start a blog about books for a while, but it was astutely pointed out to me that there really is no reason that I can’t write about books on my existing blogs. So, I’m putting the blame of this new blog entirely on my father. (Insert earnest nod here.) He and I have set up The Growlery, a books blog where we’ll both be writing, well, stuff.

Screen Shot 2014-01-26 at 12.34.32 PM

 

To start things off, my father’s put up the first part of his series on the Bengali detectives. Part two, containing Byomkesh Bakshi and others, will be up tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

